Please choose your favourite image

*Update*
Image chosen! The frog got the most votes across all the places I canvassed opinion. It was a very last minute decision though because right until the end I was convinced the red ruin was the right one – but in the end it only got 9% of the votes so, although it has plenty of impact, I went for the most popular image across a range of audiences – just hope I’ve done the right thing converting it to B&W! Many thanks for all your comments.

I need your opinion! I’m trying to decide which photo to submit for an exhibition and the only guidance is that it will be in a grid with 99 other artworks, all will be 12″ x 12″ so it needs to be a strong image. Please leave a comment, either here or over at Austin Taylor Photography’s Facebook page. Many thanks!

This one got the most votes. It was a very last minute decision though because until about 2 hours ago I was convinced the red ruin was the right one – but it only got 9% of the votes so, although it has plenty of impact, I went for the most popular image across a range of audiences in the end – just hope I’ve done the right thing converting it to B&W! Many thanks for all your comments.
13 Responses to “Please choose your favourite image”

  1. Fiona Loynd Says:

    My hubbie (who has a good artistic eye) recommends the frog (to stand out in a crowd, so to speak); I’d go for Image 4.

    Cheers!

  2. austinsphotos Says:

    Thanks Fiona!

  3. Davidina Says:

    Image No 7, whatever it is! Is it shells of some sort? Titles would have been a help. This looks the best one to me. Most innovative.

  4. Davidina Says:

    Second choice Image No. 1 – what is this one please?

  5. Caroline Says:

    The frog’s face is the first one that caught my attention, then I went to the others afterwards. Good luck!

  6. Julie Johnson Says:

    Really tough choice! I think the main one that stood out for me is the bubbles and ice (image 1). Really awesome photography and how often does that happen in nature.

    The other ones would be image 5 because I love photos of buildings and image 4 because it really shows off the brick/stone work.

    By the way, I went to the World Press Exhibition in Auckland (I live there) the other week and the pictures were absolutely amazing. There was a couple that was quite harrowing (man being stoned to death) and some of the war ones but the rest were brilliant. Could’ve stayed there all day just staring at the pictures.

    • austinsphotos Says:

      Thanks Julie!

      The ice bubbles probably happen quite often somewhere but these were some of the clearest I had seen in a long time. This past winter was great for many ice formations of many different kinds, some of which uou’ll see over on http://www.austintaylorphotography.com

      I would have loved to see the World Press Photo exhibition – it was in Edinburgh during August and I did think about trying to go but that’s over 300 miles away and I couldn’t make it. I saw it online though and you’re right, there were some amazing images.

  7. Les Lowes Says:

    For me it has to be 2E – A very striking portrayal of a roofless house – a Mirrie Dancers image I should think – but it says something about man as a builder of substantial works that have passed their active use period but are still here with us informing us of the past while part of the present. And just to cap it all, when you blow it up on screen the stars are mesmeric and timeless. A really striking image, framed perfectly, as if time has been stood still; which it has. Nice one Austin!

  8. austinsphotos Says:

    Thanks Les! Yeah, I like that one too – and it came second – but I chose the frog in the end. It was the most popular.

  9. 2010 in review « Austin Taylor Photography Blog Says:

    […] The busiest day of the year was September 13th with 127 views. The most popular post that day was Please choose your favourite image. […]

Leave a Reply

