Mammatus clouds

These photos are of mammatus clouds that are, apparently, often seen after a thunderstorm. We seldom get them here, possibly because we don’t often get thunderstorms and I don’t remember seeing clouds like this before in real life. There had just been thunder, according to a friend living locally but it was by chance that I looked out the window and said out loud to myself: “wow!” I’ve been hoping to see mammatus clouds for a long time – I’ve seen photos of them and they looked a good subject to photograph! But I think I was lucky because the ones I saw seem to be really good – partly because they were lit by a low sun, which emphasised their appearance. But they were moving quickly across the sky and within 10 minutes they had gone!

Leave a Reply

